Weekly Assignment #5

By midnight of the day before your class, please post full citations for two of any of the following types of resources related to your topic:

Please annotate each resource with a paragraph that summarizes/describes the source and also evaluates how useful the source might be for your research. Please make sure you indicate when you are quoting from another source by using quotation marks and introductory phrases!!

To find e-mail lists, try the Voice of the Shuttle; for blogs, try searching Technorati.

Other useful online scholarly communities include the Calls for Papers e-mail list at the University of Pennsylvania and the two major higher education trade journals: The Chronicle of Higher Education and Inside Higher Ed.

Many of these online resources (though unfortunately not all) can be sent in an easily scannable form to your personal computer via a web feed (aka RSS feed). See how it works in my e-mail (I use Thunderbird) below. You can also see some recent calls for papers in my regular e-mail inbox; I’ve filtered them into a subfolder. If you could see my regular inbox you’d also see e-mails from a few random scholarly lists, including Versification.

3 Comments

Filed under General

3 responses to “Weekly Assignment #5

  1. Anonymous

    As happened with some of the Tuesday students, I ran aground in my searches with Technorati and VoS. I ended up having to turn to Google as well. The results were better but still left much to be desired.
    faculty.deanza.fhda.edu/jocalo/
    This is the blog of a writing teacher at a smaller California university which deals tangetially with some of the topics I’m researching. It won’t be useful as a research tool this time around, but it seemed like a place to get some good advice.
    http://www.english-blog.com
    This is also somewhat of a one-man show, with the focus shifted on ESL as opposed to teaching writing. Although this is somewhat off topic for my research, the open posting forum has plenty of articles and commentary on many different subjects related to pedagogy in the study of English. Again, a great place to get advice, read opinions, and enter an online community.
    kairosnews.org/weblogs-by-teachers-and-scholars-in-composition-rhetoric-and-literature
    Probably the best site I found, this is a listing of blogs by “teachers and scholars” in comp. and rhetpric. I found the other two sites cross-listed, so it certainly seems like I’ve found interface with an established online forum. Even found the RSS feed…

  2. Matt Davis

    Sorry, left the NAME window blank. The above posting is mine, however.

  3. Liz Jenkins

    J-JOYCE List
    listproc@lists.utah.edu
    I got this email list from the International James Joyce Foundation website, so I think it would be pretty reliable and applicable to my topic. The site does not really offer any sort of description as to the type of emails one would receive if they join this mailing list, but since it is the first one listed on their website I assume it would just be general info about the site and maybe some upcoming events and calls for papers.
    I found a website called Brazen Head: A James Joyce Online Community
    It had links to several different email groups, ranging from Google and Yahoo! Groups where people discuss Joyce?s novels informally, to links to groups focusing on specific novels, such as Finnegan?s Wake and Ulysses. Here is the link to the Finnegan?s Wake discussion list: listserv@irlearn.ucd.ie
    This website also had links to official and unofficial websites which explain the email list serves more fully. This site in addition to the International James Joyce Foundation website I found to be very helpful and have good, trustworthy links and listserves.